JANUARY SALES HAUL

The January sales are always the biggest (and often the best) of all the yearly sales. I always find that they have the biggest discounts and you can find the best deals once the Christmas rush is out of the way (and if you’ve got any money left!).

Over the last couple of years retailers such as Urban Outfitters, River Island and H&M have started their ‘January Sales’ before Christmas, delighting shoppers who would rather not battle the crowds when the sales would traditionally start on Boxing Day.

For me this meant I could snap up a few extra Christmas presents, as well as some extra bits for my winter wardrobe before 25th December. One sale that struck me as particularly good was H&M’s. I managed to buy my other half a woollen coat for £34.99 instead of £80 AND it arrived in time for Christmas – result!

As we’re nearing the end of January I thought it would be a good time to round up all the items I managed to get in the sales, some of which I’d been coveting since they were new in stores. Enjoy!

ZARA
For Christmas my mum got me a £50 ZARA voucher and I have well and truly made the most of it in the sales. I managed to get five great items for under £47 instead of £111.95, saving £65, which sounds pretty ridiculous right? Check out what I bought below…

White, blue & red mesh dress – £22.99 £7.99

As one of my more outlandish purchases I’m completely in love with this rather patriotic overlaying dress. Not only is it loud and proud, it meets my current obsession with mesh/sheer/anything see-through. At £7.99 this was an absolute bargain that I will be wearing again and again.

Champagne velvet sack dress – £29.99 £12.99

I would go as far as saying that this is my favourite item from my entire January sales haul, and on so many levels as well. It meets lots of this season’s trends (oversized, velvet, sporty drawstring) and can be dressed up and down depending on the occasion. I’ve already worn it twice, once to work and once to an evening out. Pair with some wet look leggings and you’re good to go.

Black oversized dress with patches – £22.99 £7.99

I think it’s clear that I have a bit of a thing for oversized clothes. Not only are they comfy AF, you can eat as much as you want and not be conscious of your food baby being on show. The material of this dress is also great for this season as it’s slightly thicker and warmer than your standard dress materials.

Red hoodie with sleeve detail – £19.99 £9.99

With the rise of athleisure and how it’s creeping into our work wardrobe I jumped at the chance to buy this satin-look hoodie with it’s gorgeous sleeve detail, and yes, I have worn it to work.

Black cold shoulder dress – £15.99 £7.99

Shoulders are the new cleavage, or whatever the magazine’s have been saying. As someone who likes to show minimum flesh, I love the cold shoulder trend as you can instantly make a simple outfit, like this black dress, on trend and a little bit sexier.

AMERICAN APPAREL
Okay, this one is cheating a little bit as this wasn’t technically a January sale. As you’ve probably read, American Apparel is closing down all of its stores in the UK except the one on Camden High Street. I work just down the road from this store and have been seeing the various ‘CLOSING DOWN SALE’ signs with ever increasing amounts of discount. I popped in one lunch time and managed to get the following items for insanely good prices.

Navy disco pants – £74 £24

When I was in my late teens, anyone who was anyone had a pair of these stupidly priced disco pants. Even in my wildest dreams I couldn’t afford them so I settled for imitation ones from Missguided (which I still wear now!). However, my teenage wish was finally fulfilled as they were reduced to an incredibly affordable price. They are such great quality and being a leggings girl through and through, I can see myself wearing these with so many outfits.

RIVER ISLAND
River Island has always been my go to store ever since I was old enough to start picking my own clothes, and I’m not sure why but I always tend to buy more in their sales. I must admit that sometimes their stuff makes me go ‘wtf is that?!’ but on the most part I manage to find some great items, and with their awesome discounts, you can get great quality clothes for a lot less than the RRP.

Black patent buttoned mini skirt – £28 £12

I feel like every girl should have a black mini skirt in their collection and it makes it even better if it’s patent.

Pink scarf print suitcase – £75 £40

I travel a fair bit with work and with every trip comes the dilemma of packing. I’ve got loads of lovely holdalls but nothing beats a pretty roll-along suitcase. This little scarf print dream will save me from borrowing a suitcase every time I travel.

stunning-river-island-pink-scarf-print-suitcase-bag-_57

Black soft wide leg culottes – £35 £15

These are by far the widest trousers I own and I’m OBSESSED with them. The silk material makes them feel so luxurious yet the elasticated waist means they’re really wearable on a day-to-day basis.

Pink soft wide leg culottes – £35 £15

Same as above but in a gorgeous champagne pink colour. I haven’t actually worn these yet but I can’t wait to crack them out on the perfect occasion.

Grey marble velvet cami dress – £28 £12

My plan is to wear this little slip dress two ways. First, I’ve paired it with a white tee, which does make me feel like a 10 year old all over again, but also brings it bang up to date with current trends. And second I can wear it alone on a night out.

Gold mini rucksack – £28 £7

I already have a sequin one and a leopard print faux fur one so I thought why not add a mini gold one to my collection as well! They’re very deceiving as you can fit more into them than you think – ideal for someone like me that takes the world with me everywhere I go.

Black smart culottes – £30 £6

These were £6. I repeat, SIX POUNDS! I’m a culotte addict so these have slotted nicely into my collection.

Gold chelsea boots – £45 £15

I’ve already got a silver pair of ankle boots so I felt it was a little over indulgent to buy a gold pair too but I couldn’t resist these at £15 (and they’ve gone down to £10 now if any of you lot are interested). I love their pointy toe and black elastic Chelsea boot detail on the side.

H&M
My love affair with H&M is a very recent thing, I’d say we’re currently ‘seeing each other’ or whatever the kids call it these days. I’ve bought SO much from them over the last year which makes their sales even more satisfying. I find them great for basics – I have around 10 variations on black dresses from H&M alone, but in my eyes you can never have too many.

Black fine knit dress – £19.99 £11.99

Turtleneck black long dress – £14.99 £8.99

This particularly witchy number is longer than any of the dresses I currently have, and I was slightly concerned that it would cause issues for someone as little as me (5ft 2” if you were wondering). However, the slits up the side make this less overwhelming and is slightly more fitting (and flattering believe it or not!) than some of my other black dresses.

Blue and white striped long shirt – £19.99 £8.99

Anyone that’s been keeping on top of current trends will know that detailed sleeves are huge right now, so these shirts are perfect. Their slightly flared exaggerated sleeves are a great update on the classic blue and white striped shirt. (& black & white below).

Black and white striped long shirt – £19.99 £6.99

Cat print dress – £14.99 £5.99

I have a confession, I’ve been after EVERYTHING in this print since it first came into stores last year (H&M brought out a shirt, dress and a long shirt dress, if anyone can find the shirt in a size 10 or 12 let me know!). As a self-confessed crazy cat lady these items are an absolute dream. First this cat print dress, the style is perfect for someone with my shape as it’s fitted but not clingy and the elegant sleeves and slight skater skirt make it really feminine.

Cat print shirt dress – £19.99 £7

And this one is I just had to get, not only because I LOVE the print but because shirt dresses (especially ones as long as this one) are my thing. THANKS H&M! (Picture to come!)

NEXT

I’ve never particularly rated NEXT but recently they’ve been creating styles that have really caught my eye. I asked for the green version of these jumpers for Christmas and I loved it so much that I had to get it in two more colours.

Grey structured jumper – £36 £16

Maroon structured jumper – £36 £16

I’m going to try and move this whole blogging thing away from being just posting my outfits to Instagram, so watch this space, I have so many ideas that I can’t wait to share with you all.

M x

 

One thought on “JANUARY SALES HAUL

Leave a Reply

