How To Style See Through Clothing

Iโ€™ve always been a little bit obsessed with clothes you can see through, but not in a rude way. I love layering items to create a look that shows the different elements and fabrics and although some of these items are see through, which could be seen as trashy, thereโ€™s a knack to making it look classy instead.

A lot of looks involved with sheer/mesh clothing have an athletic background, Beyonceโ€™s Ivy Park range for Topshop for example. The items created in the see through materials range from crop tees to hoodies with each of them being bang on trend.

I have built up quite the collection of see through clothing over the last couple of years so I thought I would share with you the different ways that I style these pieces.

MESH

This sleeveless black maxi mesh dress is from H&M and found it was perfect for festival season. My style often verges on gothic and this look definitely encompasses that.

Youโ€™ll recognise this red, white and blue number from Zara from my January sales haul blog and Iโ€™ve loved wearing it over leggings and a vest top in these colder months.

This black mesh crop top is slightly harder to style (especially if, like me, you arenโ€™t 100% confident with flashing your tummy). I usually pair it with anything that is high waisted, like these mom jeans from Primark.

SHEER

I have SO many sheer tee shirts, seriously, Iโ€™ve lost count and I keep buying more. Theyโ€™re the most versatile pieces of clothing I have in my wardrobe and have styled them in so many ways. Iโ€™m not gonna ramble on too much, Iโ€™ll let the pics do the talking (item details are in the Instagram captions)…

๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ’•

A post shared by meg ๐ŸŒป (@megananndowning) on

This cream shirt is one of my oldest pieces from Urban Outfitters and I absolutely adore the studded collar. My favourite look with this shirt was wearing it loosely over my pleated Topshop trousers.

Again, this River Island dress really encompasses the sporty vibes that come with mesh clothing.

ZARA is great for on trend sheer clothing. Iโ€™ve been pining after their tulle ballerina-esque pleated midi skirts for a long time but canโ€™t bring myself taking the dive and making it work (Iโ€™m 5ft2, midi skirts are difficult).

I did however buy this amazing black sheer dress and Iโ€™ve worn it SO much. My favourite part about it is the pocket details on the front of the dress. Theyโ€™re probably not strong enough to hold anything more than a lipstick but the styling of them adds an extra touch.

I often wear this layered over a sporty crop top and velvet leggings. I like this combination due to the sheer overlay making my green velvet less abrasive and more subtle. Iโ€™m also, as Iโ€™ve already mentioned, super conscious of my stomach in crop tops so I can just about manage bearing a little bit of flesh if itโ€™s covered with black sheer material.

As long as see through clothes are being sold, Iโ€™ll keep on buying them.

 

Leave a Reply

